Indiblogger contest- The perfect road trip

My entry for Indiblogger Ambipur Perfect Road trip contest 2013! http://www.facebook.com/AmbiPurIndia

 The Perfect road trip!            Image

 

It is ironic that this contest comes at a time when I have been doing a lot of wishful thinking and hopeful convincing to my favourite travel companion.

 I am keen to actually implement this thought of mine. But I know it will take a lot of time, some money and  determination to be away from friends and family and even comforts for a duration of 2-3 months that I imagine this road trip to go on.

 Wondering which is this roadtrip that will take such a long time and is rooted in high aspirations? Read on…

 Travel companions: My life partner and favourite travel companion – Gaurav , a USB filled with our favourite songs, My camera with a back up of 5-6 SD cards, Ipad (to jot down quick observations and thoughts), first aid kit and a bagful of anticipation.

 The car: Mahindra XUV 

 The route:

Start point: Rann of Kutch, Gujarat

End point: Sundarbans, West Bengal

 Driving across the coastline of India, hopping over the major beaches, spending time on the quieter beaches and discovering hidden beaches. Being a beach lover, I have often faced a question from relatives and friends ‘ Arent they all the same?’. My answer is a firm NO!

 Yes, they all have similar elements like sand, rocks, waves, sea gulls even – but I can find at least 10 differences if it comes to a debate and prove my points. Beaches are not only about sand and waves. It is also a reminder of the local culture, food, lifestyle, religion and simply put- people. That India thrives in its diversity -is an oft repeated statement. And in this road trip, I would like to explore and understand all these elements as well. I want to understand my country better through a trip that covers all of coastal India.

 Some things I particularly look forward to, in the trip:

-Seeing the non industrialised beach towns of Gujarat 

– Trying to find the unfamiliar in the familiar landscapes of Mahararashtra

– Susegaad in Goa while I enjoy some chilled drink with butter garlic tiger prawns

– Going island hopping in Karnataka

– Enjoying the scrumptious sea food in Kerela 

– Invoking my spirituality in Tamil Nadu

– Getting awed and overwhelmed by the waves of Andhra Pradesh

– Making sand sculptures in the virginal beaches of Orissa

– Witnessing the merging of the mighty rivers with the sea in Bengal

I have gone through the journey many times in my head. But I am sure that when I actually take it,it will surpass all expectations, break many stereotypes and make me understand my self better, apart from just India.

This is a trip which I know will prove the old adage ‘ Its all about the journey, not the destination’. 

Happy Road trippin’

 

About indivistas

Amidst pursuing multiple careers- that of an Independent HR consultant, writer, photographer and a food critic. An obsessive compulsive day dreamer.Wants to have her cake and eat it too (a dark chocolate one, please!)

Posted on July 26, 2013, in Indiblogger contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

