Pop Tates chain of restobars-Gr8 value for money!

You dont have to be a Jughead type to come here- although I can safely say that the Jugheads of Mumbai will vouch for this place(me included!).  I have been visiting Pop tates restaurants for almost 4 years now. The one at saki naka was a favourite hangout during my courtship days with my husband and the present ones at Powai and Vikhroli are helping us break the monotony of marital food blues :P.

After a tiring day at work, when I want some assured good food, here is where I head.The food has always been satiating. I dont have recollection of a bad dining experience at any outlets. Just this once, I found the chicken a bit stale- told the manager about it and they readily replaced it. Their menu mainly focuses on continental, italian and some popular international cuisine. My favourites at Pop Tates include thier range of sizzlers, italian spread and much to your surprise- Chicken curry with rice! Probably one of the few Indian items on the menu, this mean dish will put the dhabas to shame! Thier sizzlers are among the best I have had till date with the portions huge and well cooked.The pizzas too are very good, although I think they are not wood-fired. The mini meals section are portions made for one hungry person and have an interesting mix of Indian, Thai and other cuisines.

They dont have a very large variety in desserts, but the sizzling brownie is great enough to compensate for the lack in variety.The ambience is youthful with good music, mostly alternative, though sometimes down and beaten pop. I have a distinct memory of hearing ‘I am a Barbie girl’ not so long ago at thier Powai outlet! The one at Vikhroli is my best pick! Not just because its a stones throw away from where I live but because it has an outdoor setting. Its best to have a piping hot sizzler in rains here.

The place tends to get teeny boppy-ish during the weekends,however it is very popular among young professionals. Its is a safe and yummy bet for a date or even a night out with friends. Pop tates is one of the few restobars with a truly happy ‘happy hours’ policy. I have been to the ones in Saki naka, Powai(jugheads), Vikhroli and Malad in Mumbai; and this place never fails to please me. The staff is courteous, helpful across the restaurants

A meal for 2 with starters,a main course and a round of drinks should be easily be under INR 1500-1700. All in all, my personal weekend favourite to relax and let loose after a crazy work week.

About indivistas

Amidst pursuing multiple careers- that of an Independent HR consultant, writer, photographer and a food critic. An obsessive compulsive day dreamer.Wants to have her cake and eat it too (a dark chocolate one, please!)

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. As I too, adore the food served at Pop Tates, I second this place to anyone who is looking to have a relaxed evening. You can survive on their starters alone, with a few drinks to brighten up their evening. One recommendation for them would be to add to their list of cock-tails. However, that can serve a mean Long Island!

Leave a Reply

